The Hate You Give

5/5 stars

I’m sure (I hope), I wasn’t the only one who hadn’t gotten round to reading The Hate U Give till now, despite all the hype. Now I’ve finally read it I feel like I’ve read half of my tbr- how I wish that could actually happen.

Enough rambling, we will begin!

The Hate U Give is about Starr, a black girl who lives in a gang infested neighbourhood but, goes to a school that’s mostly white dominated. She prefers to keep her two lives separate- this all changes when she witnesses her best friend being shot by a cop.

You know the story…

Starr’s character has so much depth, in fact all the characters are like this. It’s as if you could write whole novels of their lives.

The story has as much depth as the characters themselves, it unravels to reveall secrets as well as issues to do with the neighbourhood and it’s (sometimes dangerous), citizens.

The topic (Black Lives Matter Movement), is one that was in need of addressing and Angie Thomas portrayed it wonderfully!

I don’t have anything bad to say about it (it’s that amazing!). Although it did make me want to punch something which does say something about how honest it was about life these days.

Everyone should read this book- it changes your thoughts and feelings untill you really do want to make a difference to our lives and of those around us.

So,

What did you think of the book? What Books are like it? What type of cupcake would Starr be? Have you read it?

230_261308_max

Thanks for reading,

girlwiththeglasses 

 

Author:

Blogging about boarding schools and books

2 thoughts on “The Hate You Give

  1. Lovely review! I’m so glad you enjoyed this book so much – I haven’t gotten a chance to read it yet but I will at some point because it sounds both amazing and important. I’m so glad that book got you to the point you felt like punching something – it means it really got to you, which is GREAT 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

